Solo practice lawyer advice

Zone Read

100+ Posts
I'm a Patent Attorney about to make the jump from government work to solo practice. I was in solo practice 15 years ago, obviously things have changed a bit. I currently do government IT contracting and some Intellectual Property work (patent and trademark), would like to continue to do both but want to try to build an Intellectual Property practice. Need to know about law office management software, websites, billing, marketing, etc. Any advice from some of my fellow Longhorn lawyers? Thanks.

Get your accounting software in order ASAP.

Also, if you don't already, having online access to your banking is of great assistance. Not sure if you use IOLTA's in IP law, but being able to transfer attorney's fees into my operating account quickly online proved invaluable.

I use Amicus Attorney software, but a lot of attorneys I know swear by Needles. It evidently has more integration with other popular software that many use (I don't, so was satisfied with Amicus).

The more clients you can bring with you will make a big difference initially, of course. My practice consisted primarily of contingency fee cases, so I found it necessary to have about 6 months of savings on which to rely until some of my early cases started resolving/paying off.

Take anyone and everyone you know who might be a good source of referrals to lunch, and make certain they have a handful of cards when you leave them.

If there is some sort of IP lawyers organization with a forum or listserve, join it. It's a great resource of ready access to legal questions, and the exposure you get to other attorneys in your field and potential referrals. Becoming a member of TTLA made me a better lawyer 200x over, easy.

Where are you planning on opening an office?