Need Help, Job for an Economist

vtaenz

500+ Posts
I graduated in Dec of '07 and have been looking for a job since then. My problem hasn't been landing a job offer, that has actually been the easy part however in my current situation I need to do what's best for me, i.e. a salary job with benefits.

I've been having trouble finding a job and getting an interview with companies that can offer this and most other jobs I've seen require a Master's Degree in Economics. Most government jobs and everything I've seen are requesting/requiring a Master's Degree or a GPA over 3.0 which I fall short of.

Does anyone have any insight into where I should be looking or what companies I should be looking at that are NOT sales? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

don't really know anything about the company outside of the fact that it is here in austin and i used to deal with them at an old job of mine, but angelou economics is in austin down by 360/mopac. may want to research that and drop in a resume.

also, just in general, avoid getting your credentials to them (or any company) how everyone else does. they have people to filter the new grads down to a certain position but if you get in contact with someone directly, you never know what you'll be able to talk yourself into.

good luck.

Thanks for the info, always appreciated.

That is a company I was really trying to get into however they changed their requirements for the position I was applying for. It now requires a Masters in Economics. It was disheartening to say the least.

I may still try to get in contact with them and at least show them what I'm all about. Maybe it will work in my favor.

oh, also, isn't an economics degree commonly used to get into i-banking and trading? if so, and you don't have anything tying you to texas outside of wanting to be here, i'd pack my bags up and head to nyc without a doubt.