Hurricane Helene / Milton

Dionysus

Idoit
Admin
Any of our HF gang in the path of this thing?
I think @theiioftx has a place in Alabama, not sure about others.
I hope everyone who needs to has cleared out safely.

Indeed :pray-hands:

I work in the P&C insurance industry for a company based in the Tampa area so we're watching from both a business and personal employee level and this one has the potential to be really bad.

They’re calling him “Lieutenant Dan” (he has his legs but lives on a boat) ... and he plans to ride out Milton in Tampa Bay. I hope he makes it through ok.

241009-hurricane-milton-evacuation-mn-1307-d31fe9.jpeg

This one is getting squirrely. After reaching CAT 5, drier air and high-level wind sheer were supposed to cause some disorganization. So far, that hasn't happened.

If you know anyone in Pinellas County that hasn't evacuated, pray for them.
Fortunately it has happened. Wind is 130 mph. It was 165 mph last night or early this morning.

Fortunately it has happened. Wind is 130 mph. It was 165 mph last night or early this morning.
Wind is now down to 120 mph. Hopefully it drops more before landfall (next few hours).

Lower wind speed will slow water surge. The destruction will still be massive but maybe lower surges will mean fewer deaths.

The "experts" on TV talk about the "storm growing". This is true, and it is absolutely false. The storm was "growing" as it spreads out and was covering a larger area, BUT that also lessened the intensity at its core.

Either way, this is a monster storm which will bring physical devastation to a large area. I have a good friend in Palm Harbor (north of Tampa), and she and her children are riding it out at home. They stocked up on nonperishables and fuel and are prepared to do without electricity for a week or two. She works for American out of Miami and plans on flying out Sunday or Monday.